Canadian border crossing changes


Canada will be closing its borders to travelers who are not citizens or permanent residents of Canada. There will be some exceptions to this, including U.S. Citizens, air crews, diplomats, immediate family members of Canadian citizens. Any individual (including Canadians) with symptoms will not be able to enter Canada. Furthermore, starting on Wednesday, March 18, only four Canadian airports will receive international flights: Toronto, Montreal, Vancouver, and Calgary. This restriction will not apply to Canada-U.S. flights.

Canada is now recommending that all travelers from outside of Canada self-isolate for 14 days. There is however an exemption to the request to self-isolate for workers who are essential to the movement of goods and people, including healthy workers in the trade and transportation sector, such as truck drivers and crew on any plane, train or marine vessel crossing the border, as well as healthy people who have to cross the border to go to work, including health care providers and critical infrastructure workers.


Leave a Reply