Welcome to the Boyne City Gazette … Quality Independent Journalism in Charlevoix County
In The News
October 19, 2017 - Michigan Gov. Synder disciplines state police Col. Kriste Etue for Twitter comments
October 18, 2017 - Michigan Secretary of State candidate Jocelyn Benson to visit Northern Michigan
October 18, 2017 - PUBLIC NOTICE: Charlevoix County Board synopsis
October 18, 2017 - PUBLIC NOTICE: Boyne City Commission meeting synopses
October 18, 2017 - PUBLIC NOTICE: 257-foot tower proposed for Boyne Falls
October 18, 2017 - PUBLIC NOTICE: Charlevoix County Planning Commission Public Hearing
October 17, 2017 - CHARLEVOIX COUNTY – Public hearing on Hayes Township zoning ordinance
October 17, 2017 - #425 Boyne City Gazette Oct. 18
October 17, 2017 - Illusionist Tom Coverly hosted by Walloon Lake and East Jordan Community Churches
October 17, 2017 - MICHIGAN: Local officials say fiscal recovery mixed, but positive
October 17, 2017 - PETOSKEY: Odawa ribbon-cutting for Victories Square development
October 16, 2017 - Meet the candidates for Boyne City Commission on Oct. 18
October 16, 2017 - BOYNE CITY: State of the community is excellent
October 13, 2017 - Health Dept. of Northwest Michigan to hold youth mental health first aid training in Charlevoix
October 13, 2017 - Baby Boomer Comedy Show in Petoskey benefits Char-Em United Way
October 13, 2017 - Petoskey temple to host Yale Strom and Hot Pstromi
October 11, 2017 - Boyne Monday Study Club welcomes guest speaker Mayor Tom Neidhamer
October 11, 2017 - Join McLaren Northern Michigan Foundation for breast cancer awareness
October 11, 2017 - Balance issues? Northern Michigan Sports Medicine Center of Boyne can help
October 11, 2017 - Affordable Health Screenings coming to Boyne City Oct. 27

OPINION: Should Boyne City teacher be punished for tactless tweet?

BY BENJAMIN J. GOHS, EDITOR

Sunday is my busiest day of the week. It’s the day I finish writing stories. It’s the day I do the bulk of the layout on the paper. And, often, it’s a day when breaking news happens; sometimes it’s a plane crash, other times a major crime occurs.

This past Sunday was the first time I received multiple contacts from folks over a tweet.

 

It’s a strange new world, I suppose, where we have the ability to share photos and opinions with anyone and everyone at any time.

This particular case involves a Boyne City Public Schools teacher who shared an opinion on the inauguration of our new president.

Most of the people who contacted me thought this teacher’s opinion should be the subject of a news story. After all, many people find this teacher’s opinion to be offensive.

Last I checked, there were at least 88 comments on the Facebook share of this teacher’s comment.

Some of those who feel offended by the tweet want to see this teacher held accountable.

After a brief discussion between Boyne City Gazette Publisher Chris Faulknor and myself, we concluded that what people do or say on their own time is their own business.

We, at this newspaper, are not about to start policing the social media accounts of anyone—school teachers included.

Now, should the Boyne City Public Schools Board of Education decide this educator should be punished for sharing an opinion on Twitter, we will revisit the matter.

However, I caution those clamoring for “justice” in this situation: the desire to destroy the other guy because he disagrees with you, or says something you think is silly or tactless, is anathema to our great American ideal of free speech and expression.

God help me if a transcript of every stupid and offensive thing I ever said was printed for all to see.

There is no law protecting us from being offended. But we’re tough and we can do hard things.

Send your offensive comments to editor@boynegazette.com

 

Related Articles