Welcome to the Boyne City Gazette … Quality Independent Journalism in Charlevoix County
In The News
March 24, 2017 - Charlevoix County, Boyne City public notices
March 24, 2017 - Boyne Celtic Session Irish heritage concert photo gallery
March 24, 2017 - Boyne Business After Hours at Pat O’Brien—in pictures
March 24, 2017 - Talk on power of music at Boyne LifeTree Café
March 24, 2017 - Charlevoix County’s legislators Cole, Schmidt vote on senate, house bills
March 24, 2017 - Tip of Mitt Watershed Council concerned with potential Great Lakes funding cuts
March 24, 2017 - Boyne Police activity March 6-12
March 24, 2017 - Boyne City’s Crazy For You in photos
March 22, 2017 - Boyne Avalanche Preserve update: Phase II donation, mountain bike festival planned
March 22, 2017 - Charlevoix County College Sports Digest: Zach Hankins player of the year
March 22, 2017 - Concord Boyne’s Cinda Shumaker nominated teacher of year
March 22, 2017 - Boyne City Commission meeting highlights: police kudos, trail extension, budget preview
March 21, 2017 - #395 Boyne City Gazette March 22
March 17, 2017 - Gazette tries to cover ‘BC Residents First’ mtg on Boyne Villa housing project
March 16, 2017 - Boyne City museum, history preservation topic of open house
March 14, 2017 - Irish heritage, St. Patrick’s celebrations from Boyne City to Beaver Island
March 14, 2017 - Three Boyne City Commission seats up for re-election
March 14, 2017 - Charlevoix County featured veteran Carl Kamradt
March 14, 2017 - Charlevoix County courts and clerk filings
March 14, 2017 - 100-year-old discovery leads to major project at Charlevoix Belvedere Club

OPINION: Should Boyne City teacher be punished for tactless tweet?

BY BENJAMIN J. GOHS, EDITOR

Sunday is my busiest day of the week. It’s the day I finish writing stories. It’s the day I do the bulk of the layout on the paper. And, often, it’s a day when breaking news happens; sometimes it’s a plane crash, other times a major crime occurs.

This past Sunday was the first time I received multiple contacts from folks over a tweet.

 

It’s a strange new world, I suppose, where we have the ability to share photos and opinions with anyone and everyone at any time.

This particular case involves a Boyne City Public Schools teacher who shared an opinion on the inauguration of our new president.

Most of the people who contacted me thought this teacher’s opinion should be the subject of a news story. After all, many people find this teacher’s opinion to be offensive.

Last I checked, there were at least 88 comments on the Facebook share of this teacher’s comment.

Some of those who feel offended by the tweet want to see this teacher held accountable.

After a brief discussion between Boyne City Gazette Publisher Chris Faulknor and myself, we concluded that what people do or say on their own time is their own business.

We, at this newspaper, are not about to start policing the social media accounts of anyone—school teachers included.

Now, should the Boyne City Public Schools Board of Education decide this educator should be punished for sharing an opinion on Twitter, we will revisit the matter.

However, I caution those clamoring for “justice” in this situation: the desire to destroy the other guy because he disagrees with you, or says something you think is silly or tactless, is anathema to our great American ideal of free speech and expression.

God help me if a transcript of every stupid and offensive thing I ever said was printed for all to see.

There is no law protecting us from being offended. But we’re tough and we can do hard things.

Send your offensive comments to editor@boynegazette.com

 

Related Articles

Welcome!

Most of the content on our website is premium content intended for our subscribers.

If you are a current print subscriber, access to our website is free of charge. Click here to learn how to activate your membership.

If you are not currently a subscriber and would like access to our website. click here

If you have any questions or need help, please contact Chris at (231) 582-2799