In The News
April 26, 2018 - PHOTO GALLERY: Stiggs Brewery hosts Boyne Chamber networking event
April 26, 2018 - Support water safety in Charlevoix County with life jacket loan program
April 26, 2018 - Charlevoix County Sheriff notes: ORV class, animal control protocol
April 26, 2018 - Get your Charlevoix County Republicans Lincoln Day Dinner tickets
April 26, 2018 - Charlevoix, Emmet, Cheboygan Democrats host union appreciation picnic
April 25, 2018 - Boyne City Paint The Town Red 2018 in photos
April 25, 2018 - Michigan Sen. Wayne Schmidt hosts Boy Scouts in Lansing
April 25, 2018 - PUBLIC NOTICE: Boyne City Commission synopses Jan. 9 – Feb. 27
April 25, 2018 - Boyne City Police incident reports, April 9-15
April 25, 2018 - Charlevoix County courts and clerk filings
April 24, 2018 - Former Boyne City Police Chief Randy Howard dead at age 65
April 24, 2018 - North Central Michigan College employees vote for MEA representation
April 24, 2018 - Charlevoix County Veteran of the Month
April 24, 2018 - Little Traverse Conservancy Director Tom Bailey debuts book
April 24, 2018 - #452 Boyne City Gazette April 25
April 20, 2018 - Boyne City July 4 volunteers needed; info meeting Monday April 23
April 20, 2018 - PUBLIC NOTICE: Charlevoix Probate notice to creditors of Scott R. Spalding
April 20, 2018 - PUBLIC NOTICE: Charlevoix County Board April 11 synopsis
April 20, 2018 - PUBLIC NOTICE: Boyne zoning ordinance 2nd reading
April 20, 2018 - PUBLIC NOTICE: Boyne play structure sealing bids taken until May 1

OPINION: Should Boyne City teacher be punished for tactless tweet?

BY BENJAMIN J. GOHS, EDITOR

Sunday is my busiest day of the week. It’s the day I finish writing stories. It’s the day I do the bulk of the layout on the paper. And, often, it’s a day when breaking news happens; sometimes it’s a plane crash, other times a major crime occurs.

This past Sunday was the first time I received multiple contacts from folks over a tweet.

 

It’s a strange new world, I suppose, where we have the ability to share photos and opinions with anyone and everyone at any time.

This particular case involves a Boyne City Public Schools teacher who shared an opinion on the inauguration of our new president.

Most of the people who contacted me thought this teacher’s opinion should be the subject of a news story. After all, many people find this teacher’s opinion to be offensive.

Last I checked, there were at least 88 comments on the Facebook share of this teacher’s comment.

Some of those who feel offended by the tweet want to see this teacher held accountable.

After a brief discussion between Boyne City Gazette Publisher Chris Faulknor and myself, we concluded that what people do or say on their own time is their own business.

We, at this newspaper, are not about to start policing the social media accounts of anyone—school teachers included.

Now, should the Boyne City Public Schools Board of Education decide this educator should be punished for sharing an opinion on Twitter, we will revisit the matter.

However, I caution those clamoring for “justice” in this situation: the desire to destroy the other guy because he disagrees with you, or says something you think is silly or tactless, is anathema to our great American ideal of free speech and expression.

God help me if a transcript of every stupid and offensive thing I ever said was printed for all to see.

There is no law protecting us from being offended. But we’re tough and we can do hard things.

Send your offensive comments to editor@boynegazette.com

 

Related Articles