Ron Grunch, Laura Sansom, Gene Towne retain Boyne City Commission seats

grunch, sansom, towneAll three incumbent Boyne City Commissioners retained their seats in the Tuesday Nov. 5 election.

Boyne City Mayor Ron Grunch had the most votes, with 333; Laura Sansom came in with the next highest count at 302 votes; commissioner Delbert “Gene” Towne rounded out the wins with 290 votes; and, challenger Don Ryde, who garnered 243 votes, failed to win a seat.

The Boyne City Commission race—which drew a voter turnout of 441 people—was the only ballot issue for Boyne City residents.

Grunch, a 14-year veteran of the city commission, has said he plans to keep working to achieve the city-wide planning goals which include job creation and retention.

Sansom, now in her fourth year as a commissioner, said she will continue working to preserve and promote Boyne City’s history and its natural environment.

Towne, who has been on the commission for two-and-a-half years, plans to work on keeping the city financially sound and moving forward.